Obtaining a California Medical Marijuana Identification Card (MMIC)
In 1996, California became the first state to legalize medical cannabis. Since then, new laws have expanded the program. Recent improvements include new manufacturer regulations in 2017 and a 2020 declaration that made medical cannabis suppliers essential services.
When you register with TeleLeaf, your discretion, security, and privacy is our top priority. All information and transactions remain securely stored in our HIPAA compliant EMR platform, and you will only be billed if you are approved. Fill out our simple online intake form to schedule an appointment with one of our compassionate physicians.
Connect with one of our licensed doctors from the convenience and privacy of your own home. Regardless of your previous experience with medical marijuana, our doctors will work with you to ensure you find the holistic healing that’s right for you.
With a physician’s recommendation, you can immediately access high-quality medical cannabis from a licensed dispensary. If you choose to register for a voluntary medical marijuana ID card, you can sign up for the Medical Marijuana Identification Card Program (MMICP) through your county’s Department of Public Health. Whatever you decide, we’re always available if you need a hand.
Persistent muscle spasms, including those associated with Multiple Sclerosis
Seizures, including those associated with epilepsy
TeleLeaf vs. Other Providers
At TeleLeaf, we believe holistic healing through medical marijuana starts with access—access to knowledgeable doctors, quality suppliers, affordable medicine, patient support, and more. And you just won’t find that with other services.
Same day appointments and certifications
Patient Support Center access 6 days a week
One-time payment (with no hidden fees)
Money back guarantee if you don't receive approval
In 1996, California became the first state to legalize medical marijuana with the passage of Proposition 215 (the Compassionate Use Act). Senate Bill 420, passed in 2003, further clarified and expanded the scope of the medical marijuana program and established the Medical Marijuana Identification Card Program (MMICP).
What are the medical marijuana caregiver laws in California?
A primary caregiver is someone who assumes responsibility for the housing, health, or safety of a medical marijuana patient. Caregivers must be at least 18 years old (unless they are the parent of a minor patient) and can provide marijuana to their patients without fear of prosecution under state law.
What are the possession and cultivation limits in California?
At any time, medical marijuana patients and their primary caregivers can possess up to 8 ounces of dried marijuana and cultivate up to 6 mature or 12 immature marijuana plants. However, patients can exceed these limits if a doctor determines they require more for their personal medical needs.
Once you’ve received a physician’s recommendation, you can purchase medical marijuana from any licensed medical marijuana dispensary or collective in California. Always bring your physician’s recommendation or MMIC when visiting a dispensary.
How long does my California medical marijuana card remain valid?
Medical Marijuana Identification Cards (MMICs) are generally valid for one year from the date of issuance. However, your physician’s recommendation may have a different expiration date. You will need to renew your MMIC and doctor’s recommendation as needed; without up-to-date documentation, you’ll be unable to take advantage of California’s program.
Which forms of medical marijuana are available in California?
Minors can access medical marijuana if they have a qualifying medical condition, a physician’s recommendation, and the consent of a parent or legal guardian. In such cases, the parent or legal guardian must act as the minor’s primary caregiver.
How much does medical marijuana cost in California?
The cost of medical marijuana depends on factors like the dispensary, the product form, and the amount purchased. Typically, prices can range from $10 to $60+ for an eighth of an ounce of dried flower. For accurate pricing information, contact your local dispensary or visit their website.
Keep in mind that there is also a fee for obtaining an MMIC. This fee varies by county but typically ranges from $50 to $100 for non-Medi-Cal patients and $25 to $50 for Medi-Cal patients.
Getting Your California Medical Marijuana Card Has Never Been Simpler
With confidential same-day appointments, a HIPAA-compliant platform, and a money-back guarantee, TeleLeaf offers the easiest way to access medical marijuana.